Can You Buy Vegan or Vegetarian Gummy Bears?

Yupik Gummy Bears, Organic, Gelatin Free, Vegan Fruit, 1, 1 Pound, Non-GMO, Gluten-Free are a great option for those looking for a vegan or vegetarian alternative to traditional gummy bears. Most gummy bears contain jelly made from the cartilage, bones, hooves, or skin of slaughtered pigs and sometimes other animals. This means that most gummy bears are not vegan, vegetarian, halal, or kosher. Fortunately, there are vegan gummy bear recipes that you can make at home to ensure that the ingredients used are vegan-friendly.

If you are watching your sugar intake, it is important to check the amount of sugar in your gummy bears by looking at the ingredients.

Gelatin is generally used as a stabilizer, thickener, or texturizer in foods such as yogurt, cream cheese, and gummies.

After Haribo and most other non-vegan gummies dry, a layer of white beeswax and yellow beeswax are applied to them, followed by carnauba wax derived from the Brazilian carnauba palm tree to reduce their stickiness and give each bear an attractive shiny finish. This ingredient used in the process of making Albanian gummy bears makes them unsuitable for those who follow a vegan diet. These “honey gummies” or “jelly-free gummy bears” are the first honey-based gummy bears ever produced.

Brach gummy bears are made with authentic fruit juice concentrate but unfortunately they also contain gelatin which means they are not vegan. Used since the beginning of civilization, beeswax covers gummies such as Haribos at the end of the production process. Vegan gummy bears are created from all-natural or organic materials but at the end of the day they're still sweet. There are a lot of vegan and gelatin-free gummy bears available online so it can be difficult to know where to look or who to trust.

They have consistently used vegan ingredients to create their vegan gummies which says a lot about the principles of their brand. So it depends on your personal point of view whether you will accept beeswax in your gummies or not. Plant-based gummies without animal-derived ingredients will cite agar-agar or pectin instead of gelatin and the only type of wax used is carnauba wax. The Luehders gummies on this list are because German gummies are widely recognized by consumers as being exceptionally delicious.