What is the Iconic Yellow Haribo Bear Called?

Manufacturers offer a variety of sizes, including bears that weigh several kilograms.


, an acronym for Hans Riegel Bonn, is now synonymous with their golden gummy candies, which were first invented in 1922 as “the dancing bear”. Each bag of golden bears contains five fruit flavors (lemon, orange, pineapple, raspberry and strawberry).


carries out a thorough process to ensure that chewing gum is the gold standard.

For example, Triffler says, Americans and Germans don't always agree on how a “lemon” candy should taste, making it difficult to develop a single yellow piece to obtain a mixture that suits everyone's tongue. After the success of this first gummy product, in 1930 Haribo had 160 employees and distributed candies throughout Germany. Goldbears are the best-selling gummy bear candies in the United States and are still the “gold standard” of gummy candy worldwide. Its name is derived from the original main ingredient Gummy bear gummy comes from the original thickener used by Riegel, gum arabic (the resin of an acacia tree).

As a testimony to Riegel's original idea and entrepreneurial spirit, haribo is now distributed all over the world and, even a century later, it is a name that is inextricably linked to candies and the quintessential gummy bear. Some gummy bears are made with starch or pectin instead of jelly, making them suitable for vegetarians and vegans. They are manufactured in a machine called the starch magnate. To produce gummy bears, an artist carves the design in plaster and then duplicates it on a tray full of cornstarch called the starch magnate (the shape of the gummy is first stamped on the starch).

HARIBO gummies were first created in a small family kitchen with a sack of sugar, a block of marble, a brick oven, a copper teapot and a rolling pin. Halal gummy bears are produced in Turkey, Haribo uses animal gelatin to make its gummy products, so in areas where pork cannot be eaten, it is necessary to make them with bovine gelatin.